Doppelganger

One morning I read an interesting review of a new recording of Bach’s early works for harpsichord.  I tore out the review and about a week later, took it into the best classical music store downtown to make the purchase.

The man behind the desk looked at the clipping. “Oh,” he said “We had this but we sold it.  Someone else came in a few days ago and bought it.  They saw the same review.”

“My competitor.”  I said, and left my name and number so they could order it in again.

The situation seemed strange.  A national newspaper publishes a music review in a major Canadian city.  Two people are interested and go to the same store to buy the one copy.  Things narrowed down very quickly.

Who was this other person who loves harpsichord music?  What was his/her impression of the recording?  Perhaps we should meet, having so much in common.

But then I thought – What if it was me?   I’ll just have to see if the recording sounds familiar.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

