Goodbye Ingeborg and Yelmer

My mother was raised in a Scandinavian community in Duluth, Minnesota.   Probably that’s the reason one of her friends gave her a pair of large trolls.   She called them Ingeborg and Yelmer.  These two stood about 9 inches high, had orange hair and red and green felt lederhosen and skirt.   They were always on display somewhere during my childhood.

After she died, I couldn’t throw them out.  They were too kitschy to display so I stored them in a closet.  Years passed and, recently, I’ve been paring down my belongings.  It was time for Ingeborg and Yelmer to move on.  But I still couldn’t throw them out.

I combed their tangled hair, washed their smiling faces and dusted down their little suits.  Then I took them downstairs and left them on a shelf in my apartment lobby.  When I came back later in the day, they were gone.  They are probably in Osaka now.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

